JPS

JPS is a proprietary, personalized Local Navigation System developed by Jonathan Pillot.  Sometimes referred to by its other moniker, IGG (“I Gotta Guy” or “I Gotta Gal”), JPS connects subscribers’ requests, needs and/or desires (people, places, things) with ideal matches, based primarily on the subscribers’ designated interests, individual tastes and parameters, and geographic location.  JPS tells subscribers where to go AND provides detailed directions on how to get there, wherever “there” is.  You just have to ask for what you want.

The language of the JPS Operating System (JP-SOS) is coded differently from other travel guides.  It is deeply subjective, and solely programmed based on the WWL (“What We Love”) Table.  It eschews categorizations such as what is “the best.”  It’s all about the match.

Below are some JPS faves:

Acupuncture – Lin Sister, 4 Bowery (Chinatown) – linsister.com

Arugula (Fresh, in Season) - Mountain Sweet Berry Farm (Union Square Market, Weds/Sat, Opposite Blue Water Grill)

Arugula Salad – Bar Pitti, 268 Sixth Avenue (Bleecker/Houston)

Bagels (Brooklyn) – Bagel Hole, 400 7th Avenue – bagelhole.net

Bagels (Manhattan) - Murray’s Bagels (murraysbagels.com), Zucker’s Bagels (zuckersbagels.com)

Bicycles (Used) - Jose – (Weekends, Southside of Houston Street, East of Macdougal)

Bookstore – Housing Works Bookstore/Cafe, 126 Crosby Street (Soho) – (housingworks.org/bookstore)

Butcher - Pino’s, 149 Sullivan Street, Soho (nytimes.com/2015/04/05/nyregion/an-old-school-butcher-shop-endures-in-soho.html?_r=0)

Café Italian – Caffe Dante, 79 Macdougal Street – dante-ny.com

Cheese (Bronx) – Calandra Cheese, 2314 Arthur Avenue (calanrascheese.com)

Cheese (Manhattan) – Murray’s Cheese, 254 Bleecker Street (murrayscheese.com)

Cheese Melts – Murray’s Cheese – 254 Bleecker Street – murrayscheese.com

Chinese Herbs – Lin Sister, 4 Bowery (Chinatown) – linsister.com

Chiropractor (and Acupuncturist) – Chris Koultukis, D.C., LAc – 240 Central Park South - 212/265-6471

Cinematographer – Chris Vernale (elraven.com)

Cold Cuts (Classic) – Faicco’s – 260 Bleecker Street (At Leroy)

Cold Cuts (Gourmet) – Murray’s Cheese – 254 Bleecker Street – murrayscheese.com

Dairy - Eggs/Milk/Yogurt – Five Acre Farms (fiveacrefarms.com) - vimeo.com/100521789 

Deli/Corned Beef/Pastrami – 

Dim Sum – Nom Wah – 13 Doyers Street (near Pell) – nomwah.com

Dumplings – Now that Prosperity Dumplings is out, I go to Vanessa’s, 118A Eldridge Street (at Broome) – vanessas.com

Eggplant Parm – Bar Pitti, 268 Sixth Avenue (Bleecker/Houston)

Fish Retail – Sea Breeze, 541 Ninth Avenue (40th Street) – seabreezefishmarkets.com 

Food Pop-Up Market – Mad. Sq. Eats (seasonal) – Broadway/24th-25th Streets

Fruit/Veggie Cart – The Arici Family – (SW Corner, University Place/14th Street) – (vimeo.com/109026200)

Happy Hours – Zero Otto Nova, 15 West 21st Street (50% off ANY drinks)

Hot Dog – Katz’s, 205 East Houston Street (katzsdelicatessen.com)

                   Papaya King, 179 East 86th Street – papayaking.com

Ice Cream – Ample Hills Creamery – 623 Vanderbilt Avenue, Brooklyn – amplehills.com 

Italian Ices – Pasticceria Rocco, 243 Bleecker Street – roccos.nyc 

Italian Pastry – Veniero’s, 342 East 11th Street (between 1st/2nd Avenues) – venierospastry.com

Japanese Market (Including Retail Sushi) – Sunrise Mart – 4 Stuyvesant Street (9th Street/Third Avenue) – (sunrisemart-ny.com) 

Knishes – Yonah Schimmel – 127 East Houston Street – knishery.com

Lasagna – Le Zie, 172 Seventh Avenue (at 20th Street) – lezie.com 

LEO (Lox, Eggs, Onions) – Barney Greengrass, 541 Amsterdam Avenue – (barneygreengrass.com)

Liquor Store – Astor Wines & Spirits, 399 Lafayette Street – astorwines.com

Martial Arts – World Martial Arts Center – 540 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn (happykicks.com) - youtube.com/watch?v=bunyoL3iy7Y 

Matzah (“Crack” Matzah!) – Blue Ribbon Bakery Market, 14 Bedford Street (near Downing) - blueribbonrestaurants.com/restaurants/blue-ribbon-bakery-market/

Marinara Sauce (Homemade) - Raffetto’s, 144 West Houston Street (raffettospasta.com) - vimeo.com/99528036

Meatballs (Meatball Sliders) – Little Owl, 90 Bedford Street - thelittleowlnyc.com

Mushroom Barley Soup – Teresa’s, 80 Montague Street (Brooklyn Heights)

Park – Prospect Park

Pasta (Retail)- Raffetto’s, 144 West Houston Street (raffettospasta.com) - vimeo.com/99528036 

Pizza Slices – There are sooo many I love, a few of my faves are Joe’s (6th Avenue/Carmine), Bleecker Street Pizza (7th Avenue/Bleecker), Roma (85 7th Avenue, Park Slope, at Union Street)

Potatoes (Fresh, in Season) - Mountain Sweet Berry Farm (Union Square Market, Weds/Sat, Opposite Blue Water Grill)

Razors/Blades – Harry’s – 64 Macdougal Street (Houston Street) – (harrys.com)

Smoked Fish (Downtown) – Russ & Daughters, 179 East Houston Street – russanddaughters.com

Smoked Fish (Uptown) – Murray’s Sturgeon, 2429 Broadway – murrayssturgeon.com

Spare Ribs (Chinese) – Ollie’s, 2425 Broadway (89th Street) - ollieseats.com/ollies-to-go

Spiritual Community (Manhattan) – Romemu (romemu.org) - vimeo.com/158990627; vimeo.com/30653003

Spiritual Community (Brooklyn) - Because Jewish (becausejewish.com)

Strawberries (Fresh, in Season) - Mountain Sweet Berry Farm (Union Square Market, Weds/Sat, Opposite Blue Water Grill)

Sunglasses (Street Vendor) – Prince Street Sunglasses – (Weekends on Prince, between Mott/Mulberry) – (nolitaoutdoormarket.com)

TED Talks: http://www.ted.com/talks/simon_sinek_how_great_leaders_inspire_action.html

http://www.ted.com/talks/derek_sivers_how_to_start_a_movement.html

Tibetan Store – Tibet Jewels, 197 Bleecker Street (near Macdougal)

Website Designer – Didi Awad - branded.me/didi-awad

Wine (Red) – Archeo Nero d’Avola (only at Trader Joe’s Wine, East 14th Street)

Writing Books, Pens – College Pen & Stationery, 144 Bleecker Street (at LaGuardia Place)